Register    Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Network Status

  
 Service   Status  Description 
 High Speed Cable  Please wait... 
 DSL  Please wait... 
 VOIP   No Network issues. 

Board index » Cable Internet » Cable Internet Problems / Questions




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 213 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 15  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Cable Internet Speed Test Results.
 Unread post Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2010 10:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 5:56 pm
Posts: 16
Location: Oakville ON (Third Line and Lakeshore)
Can anyone confirm they have Acanac residential cable internet up and running? If so can they perhaps point us to some dslreports speedtest results?


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cable speed test results.
 Unread post Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2010 11:46 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2010 9:45 pm
Posts: 15
just got mine working, ping was a little wonky from Ottawa to Montreal the Ottawa to Kingston server ping was 56ms but the speed was 13.5mbps
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cable speed test results.
 Unread post Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2010 1:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 6:52 pm
Posts: 3944
Location: Thornhill
The speed test is from your Acanac cable? Cause it shows 23mb and you said 13mb.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cable speed test results.
 Unread post Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2010 7:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2009 11:00 am
Posts: 382
Location: Downsview,Ont. M3N
also why is it 3WEB?


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cable speed test results.
 Unread post Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2010 7:21 pm 
Offline
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 10:24 pm
Posts: 20963
Location: Toronto
Part of DISTRIBUTEL COMMUNICATIONS.

_________________
Image
Welcome to the Acanac Community Forums..
Please read the Forum Rules before posting.


We are here for a short time, and then .......


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cable speed test results.
 Unread post Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2010 7:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2009 11:00 am
Posts: 382
Location: Downsview,Ont. M3N
but i dont get why it says 3web.
if acanac runs through bell canada it still says isp : Canaca
if acanac runs through distributel, why does it say 3web and not Canaca?


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cable speed test results.
 Unread post Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2010 7:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 6:52 pm
Posts: 3944
Location: Thornhill
I guess it depends on how their hardware is setup.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cable speed test results.
 Unread post Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2010 7:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2009 11:00 am
Posts: 382
Location: Downsview,Ont. M3N
will be it changed to acanac or canaca because it just looks better for an isp, if it says 3web it sounds like acanac is not really an isp but just a company that sets up orders with another company

also why is that speedtest 24mb , im thinking this has that 'powerboost' where for the first 5 seconds your internet speed is accelerated by like 1.5x or something?


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cable speed test results.
 Unread post Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2010 7:47 pm 
Offline
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 10:24 pm
Posts: 20963
Location: Toronto
Quote:
will be it changed to acanac or canaca because it just looks better for an isp, if it says 3web it sounds like acanac is not really an isp but just a company that sets up orders with another company

Paul has already made comments that he will release the details of Partnering with Distributel by years end.

_________________
Image
Welcome to the Acanac Community Forums..
Please read the Forum Rules before posting.


We are here for a short time, and then .......


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cable speed test results.
 Unread post Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2010 8:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2009 11:00 am
Posts: 382
Location: Downsview,Ont. M3N
how come speed is 23.6mbps


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cable speed test results.
 Unread post Posted: Fri Nov 12, 2010 2:50 am 
Offline
Not an Acanac Customer.

Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 11:03 am
Posts: 80
Location: Kitchener, ON
priyen wrote:
also why is that speedtest 24mb , im thinking this has that 'powerboost' where for the first 5 seconds your internet speed is accelerated by like 1.5x or something?

It sure seems like it, but I wasn't aware that anyone but Comcast did that. It would also reflect on the UL side. Perhaps just a glitch with the site.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cable speed test results.
 Unread post Posted: Fri Nov 12, 2010 9:28 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 5:56 pm
Posts: 16
Location: Oakville ON (Third Line and Lakeshore)
Anybody have some test results (hopefully that will generate less questions) from the Oakville or Burlington area? I signed up for service online at least four days ago and I've heard nothing, not even an email. Should I sign up again?


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cable speed test results.
 Unread post Posted: Fri Nov 12, 2010 12:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2010 12:29 pm
Posts: 10
Location: Oakville, ON (Uppermiddle & Trafalgar)
To Grits:

I've signed up for the service last Thursday (Oakville area). Instead of waiting for confirmation and activation email I called Acanac Sales and right away got confirmation and Cable ID number. :) Next day - Cable installation date. :D Today - invoice and tracking number for modem shipping with Fedex Overnight Delivery. :D :D

They are very busy right now. Why not to be more active to get what you want. :wink:

There is only one downthing. I've send email to billing department (about money refund for my DSL service) - got ticket # right away and that's it, no reply for a couple days already.
And it seems only one way to communicate with billing department - email ticketing.

To Paul: Should I just wait or there is another way to get something from billing department?


Last edited by fav on Sat Nov 13, 2010 1:23 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cable Internet Speed Test Results "Only" Please post her
 Unread post Posted: Fri Nov 12, 2010 3:59 pm 
Offline
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 5:48 pm
Posts: 3226
Acanac, Canaca, 3Web and Distributel:


Like I mentioned before I will have further information towards the end of the year regarding us joining forces. The reason 3Web IP's are showing up is because Cable is a bit different than DSL. We don't have control over what IP's clients get assigned. This might change in the future however right now nothing we can do about it.

_________________
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cable Internet Speed Test Results "Only" Please post her
 Unread post Posted: Fri Nov 12, 2010 4:01 pm 
Offline
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 10:24 pm
Posts: 20963
Location: Toronto
Paul, can you give us a teaser Speed Test?

_________________
Image
Welcome to the Acanac Community Forums..
Please read the Forum Rules before posting.


We are here for a short time, and then .......


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 213 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 15  Next

Board index » Cable Internet » Cable Internet Problems / Questions


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: