Register    Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Network Status

  
 Service   Status  Description 
 High Speed Cable  Please wait... 
 DSL  Please wait... 
 VOIP   No Network issues. 

Board index » DSL/ADSL2+/VDSL » DSL/ADSL2+/VDSL Problems / Questions




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: ADSL light on, but cannot connect (TP-LINK TD-8816 Modem
 Unread post Posted: Wed Dec 08, 2010 4:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2008 9:33 am
Posts: 90
Location: ottawa
the modem logs may point to why you're not getting a connection. generally speaking, once you recieve sync, your modem will send authentication requests to retrieve an ip adddress from the acanac server to get on the network. if you could copy and paste those logs (the best ones are usually right after rebooting the modem, when the modem starts its process of trying to find an internet connection).

as for faster speeds, it's just theoretical at the moment. if you are on fast path, you can theoretically get bumped to a higher profile on interleave. but if you are already interleaved, it may not be possible to go any faster.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ADSL light on, but cannot connect (TP-LINK TD-8816 Modem
 Unread post Posted: Wed Dec 08, 2010 7:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 10:46 am
Posts: 25
Not sure if you have tried this already, but when you logon to your router (192.168.1.1) what do you see on the status page? Any problems there? If you can get Acanac ip, then the problem is within your network settings.

Also, if you double clicked the username/password from the email, then copy them over sometime the highlighted string will include an extra space which will make username/password incorrect. You can try to type them in case you have not tried yet.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ADSL light on, but cannot connect (TP-LINK TD-8816 Modem
 Unread post Posted: Fri Dec 10, 2010 9:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 10:16 pm
Posts: 45
Location: Montreal
I reset the router, and ran the wizard. Still no connection.
I tried both copy-pasting the login info and typing it manually - no difference.

Again, I do not get an IP from Acanac. On the status page I can see that the connection status in VC02 is: Not Connected.

Here is what I got from the log:

Code:
1/1/2000 0:16:9> Call Failed
1/1/2000 0:16:11> netMakeChannDial: err=-3000 rn_p=804a31f4
1/1/2000 0:16:30> Last errorlog repeat 3 Times
1/1/2000 0:16:31> netMakeChannDial: err=-3000 rn_p=804a31f4
1/1/2000 0:16:37> Last errorlog repeat 1 Times
1/1/2000 0:16:37> No DNS server available
1/1/2000 0:16:37> adjTimeTask fail: wrong domain name
1/1/2000 0:16:37> No DNS server available
1/1/2000 0:16:37> Last errorlog repeat 10 Times
1/1/2000 0:16:37> adjTimeTask fail: no server available
1/1/2000 0:16:37> adjtime task pause 60 seconds
1/1/2000 0:16:37> No DNS server available
1/1/2000 0:16:37> adjTimeTask fail: wrong domain name
1/1/2000 0:16:37> No DNS server available
1/1/2000 0:16:37> Last errorlog repeat 10 Times
1/1/2000 0:16:37> adjTimeTask fail: no server available
1/1/2000 0:16:37> adjtime task pause 60 seconds
1/1/2000 0:16:37> No DNS server available
1/1/2000 0:16:37> adjTimeTask fail: wrong domain name
1/1/2000 0:16:37> No DNS server available
1/1/2000 0:16:37> Last errorlog repeat 10 Times
1/1/2000 0:16:37> adjTimeTask fail: no server available
1/1/2000 0:16:37> adjtime task pause 1 day
1/1/2000 0:16:39> Call Failed
1/1/2000 0:16:41> netMakeChannDial: err=-3000 rn_p=804a31f4


If I won't be able to solve the problem today I'll have no choice but to request a refund :cry:


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ADSL light on, but cannot connect (TP-LINK TD-8816 Modem
 Unread post Posted: Fri Dec 10, 2010 9:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 8:50 am
Posts: 4143
Location: Chateauguay,QC
Modem settings. vpi can be set to 0 and vci can be set to 35
Image

_________________
Always remember live for today, Tomorrow is not promised and yesterday is gone.


Last edited by gmc on Fri Dec 10, 2010 11:17 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ADSL light on, but cannot connect (TP-LINK TD-8816 Modem
 Unread post Posted: Fri Dec 10, 2010 10:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 10:46 am
Posts: 25
Alecz20 wrote:
I recently subscribed to Acanac DSL service. I decided to use my own modem: TP-LINK TD-8816 Modem, which has been reportedly working.


This may be a stupid question, but where did you get this modem? Perhaps, it needs a firmware upgrade?

If the ADSL light is on, then this means the connection has been established. There is no reason why you could not connect unless Bell completely messed up on their end. Why your log keeps saying "NO DNS server". Did you manually set any IPs or DNS addresses on your router or PC? Make sure everything is set to automatically get.

Last, you could try with a known working modem, then you will know for sure what's the problem.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ADSL light on, but cannot connect (TP-LINK TD-8816 Modem
 Unread post Posted: Fri Dec 10, 2010 11:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 10:16 pm
Posts: 45
Location: Montreal
After I reset the modem to factory settings, I ran the wizard. In the wizard I put the VPI to 0 and the VCI to 35. After that, I put the username and password and I only changed the MTU from 1480 to 1492.

I bought the modem from NCIX (it was a returned product)

I confirmed that my account works.

I will try to do the following:

- Go to my parents and try my modem to confirm that the modem works.

I did not set any IP's or DNS or anything like that.


EDIT: My account works... I just tried it at my parents' place.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ADSL light on, but cannot connect (TP-LINK TD-8816 Modem
 Unread post Posted: Fri Dec 10, 2010 12:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 8:50 am
Posts: 4143
Location: Chateauguay,QC
Did you put the virtual circuit to PVC0.
The log doesn't hasn't any relevance here, mine is exactly the same and i do not have any problems.

_________________
Always remember live for today, Tomorrow is not promised and yesterday is gone.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ADSL light on, but cannot connect (TP-LINK TD-8816 Modem
 Unread post Posted: Fri Dec 10, 2010 12:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2010 10:28 pm
Posts: 131
Location: Alliston, ON
*cough* Ass-tastic signal, intermittent disconnect*cough*

I broke my word...damn


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ADSL light on, but cannot connect (TP-LINK TD-8816 Modem
 Unread post Posted: Fri Dec 10, 2010 2:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 10:16 pm
Posts: 45
Location: Montreal
gmc wrote:
Did you put the virtual circuit to PVC0.
The log doesn't hasn't any relevance here, mine is exactly the same and i do not have any problems.


PVC0 has different VPI and VCI and I could not change. Only PVC2 has the correct VPI and VCI.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ADSL light on, but cannot connect (TP-LINK TD-8816 Modem
 Unread post Posted: Fri Dec 10, 2010 3:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 10:46 am
Posts: 25
Alecz20 wrote:
EDIT: My account works... I just tried it at my parents' place.


Okay, so modem works and account works, then the only thing left is your actual phone line.

Try different phone jack around the house to see if that makes any difference. I know this is a stupid but I just had to ask. You can actually make a phone call use the line you are using right now for DSL, right?


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ADSL light on, but cannot connect (TP-LINK TD-8816 Modem
 Unread post Posted: Mon Dec 13, 2010 9:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 10:16 pm
Posts: 45
Location: Montreal
randalxu wrote:
Alecz20 wrote:
EDIT: My account works... I just tried it at my parents' place.


Okay, so modem works and account works, then the only thing left is your actual phone line.

Try different phone jack around the house to see if that makes any difference. I know this is a stupid but I just had to ask. You can actually make a phone call use the line you are using right now for DSL, right?


I only tried the account on a known working system. I haven't checked the modem. Today I will take the modem and the phone cable I tried to connect at my place and try it out at may parent's place.

If the modem works, then it means there must be a line problem, as you pointed out.

If there is a line problem, there is nothing I can do about it! I am not allowed to break the walls and change the wires. The wires are Bell's property, and if Bell will charge me $100 to tell me their wires in my rented apartment are not good, then I'll just request my refund.

I have been screwed by Bell several times before, I know they will take your money and offer nothing in return. I won't risk having the technician at home.

Thanks again for your support.

EDIT:
P.S.: I have DRY DSL, so I don't think I can make an calls. I have to move too much furniture to get access to the other phone jack which is located in the bedroom. Maybe I'll give it a try just for curiosity. Will update my findings tomorrow.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ADSL light on, but cannot connect (TP-LINK TD-8816 Modem
 Unread post Posted: Mon Dec 13, 2010 11:16 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 10:46 am
Posts: 25
Now, looks like we have a little bit new information. Are you living in a house or apartment? If it's an apartment building, then you need to make sure

1) the installation is complete (I forgot whether or not you got confirmation (beside the email with your login/password).

2) the installer knows your apartment number, otherwise nothing will be done and nothing will work. (apparently this is required for DRY DSL)

But, if you live in a house, then you need to test the modem.

Hopefully, this can provide some additional help.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ADSL light on, but cannot connect (TP-LINK TD-8816 Modem
 Unread post Posted: Tue Dec 14, 2010 9:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 10:16 pm
Posts: 45
Location: Montreal
Here is a summary of the situation:

I live in apartment building, and I ordered DRY DSL - Bell said they cannot offer Internet at my address, except Dial-up.

As soon I received the login info, I put it in my modem and I waited for the Internet to come.

I noticed that at first the ADSL light was off, and after about a week the ADSL light came up. However, the Modem would not connect.


When I contacted Acanac they said that the service is active and that I should be able to connect. They told me to connect the modem directly to the computer - which I already tried.

Then they said, they can send a Bell technician to check, but it would cost me $100 if the problem is "inside wiring issue". At this point I decided to double check everything except the wiring, as I am not allowed to make modifications on Bell's wires in the Building.

I went o my parent's place and checked the modem with the account info I received from Acanac. It worked fine. When I took the modem back home, of course, it didn't work.

I can conclude that the problem is the wiring which is beyond my control and I do not need to pay $100 to a Bell tech to tell me something I already know.

Acanac said that I should call them, however with an average waiting time of 30 minutes... I don't see the point.


Uh well... at least I tried. When Bell told me initially that they cannot offer High Speed Internet at my address they knew what they were talking about. I wonder how come Acanac was not told the same thing?

I guess it's time to see how effective is the return policy (Thank God something like this exists, otherwise... $400+ dollars could have been lost)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ADSL light on, but cannot connect (TP-LINK TD-8816 Modem
 Unread post Posted: Tue Dec 14, 2010 10:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2010 10:28 pm
Posts: 131
Location: Alliston, ON
One question? Have you made absolutely certain to set the VCI to 35? Infact, set it to 35 not just on PVC2, but on PVC0 as well.

Another thing, use PVC2 for your connection, any other circuit doesn't seem to want to work on this modem. I cannot get connected on any other one myself, I tried just for fun.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ADSL light on, but cannot connect (TP-LINK TD-8816 Modem
 Unread post Posted: Tue Dec 14, 2010 2:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 10:16 pm
Posts: 45
Location: Montreal
I cannot change the VCI to 35 on PVC0 as it is already assigned to PVC2.

HOWEVER, as I said in my message, I was able to connect with the modem in a different location, then WITHOUT CHANGING ANYTHING, I could not connect from home.


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

Board index » DSL/ADSL2+/VDSL » DSL/ADSL2+/VDSL Problems / Questions


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 6 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: